affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india
affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india
affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india

affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india
affiliate webmaster glossary CPC CPM - mumbai india


Affiliate Webmaster Glossary

Marketing and Advertising People have a great habit of creating confusing terms that we all have to try and understand.

If you are going to become involved with Affiliate Programs you need to understand what these different terms mean. The following terms are not only used with affiliate programs but used on the web generally in the area of advertising, but the chances are you will come across quite a few of them! Here is a 'brief' summary of what the different terms mean: -


Affiliates:

An affiliate site is a web site that has placed links (HTML) to promote a merchant's products or services. As an affiliate, you partner with merchants in order to enable your web site to sell or promote things online. Like: products, services, sweepstakes or technology. In exchange, you receive a commission for all the valid transactions that you have referred to the merchant. This can take place on a pay per click, pay per lead, pay per sale or other basis.



What is an affiliate program?

An affiliate program is a way for merchants to extend and the distribution of their products and services through a virtual sales force made up of any number of any kind of other web sites. In other words, having other web sites promote your products and services. By setting up an affiliate program for your products and services you can greatly extend your marketing reach. Imagine web site owners coming to your automated web site that allows them to sign up for your affiliate program so they can start advertising your products and services on their web sites. Imagine that computers track everything that is needed so you know how much to pay these site owners in the way of a predetermined commission.



Banner Links

The image that you see to the right is a banner link. It is coded to have an address built into it. If you click it, your browser will show the page that the address points to.



Category Specific Links

Links that take a web sites viewers to a specific category of products. Example: Being able to direct ones viewers to a category of products.



Click Through

This is the simple process of someone clicking on a link or a banner advertisement or search box or similar from your site to the merchants site.

 


Click Through Rate (CTR)

This is the percentage from all your online visitors that 'click-through' to one of your advertised merchants. This only measures the number of people who 'physically' click on your ad - not the people who may see the ad and then visit the site later. It is a measure of 'immediate response' to an advertisement, link, banner, search box etc. Because click-through-rates are tied to the pay-per-click model, CTR is becoming a less attractive measure of performance, where the conversion rate is now seen by many merchants as the best measure of performance.

Co-Branding

Some programs allow you (as an affiliate) to include your logo or navigation system on the page of an online store or service that is offered by a merchant. Creating, for example, a storefront that has the look and feel of your site but is really maintained by your merchant partner. The merchant partner handles all the sales, returns, stock, invoicing and etc. You (as an affiliate) collect a percentage of the money each time a purchase is made through your site. The free email accounts we offer you are an excellent example of co-branding.



Content

Your viewers need a reason to come to your site and to keep coming back, something to look forward to. Content is exactly that. What is content? News, weather, personals, and even classifieds and auctions can be considered content. Content is something that is interesting to your viewers. If your site is full of pages, that once you read them there is really no reason to read them again, then you can see why no one will come back. You may need content that is automatically updated daily. This creates interest for your viewers and a reason to come back to your site. There is a saying that you see on the net: "Content is King" meaning, content is what brings viewers and content is what keeps them coming back. For example, if you sell cars there is no reason for anyone to come to your site who is not looking to buy a car. Unless you add some interesting content. News about cars, classifieds so they can sell their cars, driving games, travel by car guides would then be considered content. The free email accounts we offer you are an excellent example of content.



Conversion Rate:

The percentage of visitors that you send to your merchants site who take the desired action. This could be as simple as subscribing to a newsletter or ezine, buying a product, downloading some software. This is a very important measurement for affiliates and something you should really focus on! By examining your conversion rate and measuring that against the number of click-throughs' that you can gauge the effectiveness of not only your advertising/promotion efforts but also that of the merchant!




Cost Per Click (CPC) and Pay Per Click (PPC) :

Both these terms are used interchangeably. In simple 'affiliate terms', when someone clicks on one of your merchants or advertisers links (whether it be text or graphic) you will receive a commission. This can vary from anywhere between 1c (or even less) up to (generally) 10c. To help you understand the different concepts a little easier the following equation may help: -

If you were to offer advertising on your site that was based on the number of 'impressions' not clicks and you were selling your impressions for $10.00 CPM (cost-per-thousand- impressions) and you achieved a click-through rate (CTR) of 5% then ....

1000 impressions x 5% CTR = 50 click-throughs

$10.00 CPM / 50 click-throughs = 20c per click




Cost Per Thousand Impression (CPM) :

Refers to advertising bought on the basis of impressions. This is totally different to any of the other 'performance based' programs - that is where the person has to click-through and make a purchase or perform some additional action.

The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate by the number of CPM units. An example would be two million impressions at $10.00 CPM equals a total price of $20,000.00.

The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1000 e.g. $10.00 CPM equals 1c per impression.

Because impressions can be an imprecise measurement - if you plan to advertise of someone else's site I strongly recommend you try to negotiate a CPA (cost-per-action) model.




Cost Per Action (CPA) - Pay Per Action (PPA) :

This advertising model is based solely on qualifying actions that your referred customer must do at the merchants site. This is the overall trend now in affiliate programs - just referring people to merchants sites (in the PPC model) is normally not enough!

Your referral must perform some specific action for you to earn a commission - it may be just signup for a newsletter or download some software or buy a product!




Merchants

A merchant is a company that has products, services or technologies to sell. A merchant is a company that you (as an affiliate) partner with in order to enable your web sites capabilities to sell things online. Merchants enable you to sell things online like: products, services or technology. You (as an affiliate) place links (HTML) on your site to promote the merchant's products or services. In exchange, you receive a commission for all the valid transactions that you have referred. This can take place on a pay per click, pay per lead, pay per sale or other basis.



Merchant Solutions for setting up an affiliates program (Affiliate Network):

An affiliate network is a larger organisation that is involved in two businesses. Recruiting merchants and recruiting affiliates for those merchants. The merchants need the affiliate networks because the networks have forged ahead and created all the sophisticated technology needed to track affiliates. They also have the people power to offer support to both the merchants and the affiliates when needed. They handle sending out the checks to the affiliates. They can also provide much needed assistance in helping the merchant to create their web sites and offer a complete solution. They will help you as a merchant get and affiliate program launched and they help you as an affiliate find merchants and all the in-betweens.



Merchant Solutions for setting up an affiliates program (Software Based):

Affiliate tracking solutions enable you to track how much your affiliates are selling, how much you owe them and many other details that are needed in a complete solution. But it is up to you to deal with your affiliates needs and write out the checks, and try to promote your affiliate program etc. In other words, you are buying into a technology that is a solution to your technical needs but not the people power you need to run a big operation. As you would expect these solutions are cheaper and are aimed at smaller operations or larger ones who want to be be more involved in every aspect of the process. If, however, that is more than you want to deal with, then an affiliate network is the answer for you. In order to make this happen, however, you have to fit the Affiliate Networks basic requirements. Affiliate tracking software is software you add to your server (or your host adds it to their server) allowing the "technology" (software) to go to work keeping track of all the information that you need to run your affiliate program.





Merchant Solutions for setting up an affiliates program (Web Based):

Affiliate tracking solutions enable you to track how much your affiliates are selling, how much you owe them and many other details that are needed in a complete solution. But it is up to you to deal with your affiliates needs and write out the checks, and try to promote your affiliate program etc. In other words, you are buying into a technology that is a solution to your technical needs but not the people power you need to run a big operation. As you would expect these solutions are cheaper and are aimed at smaller operations or larger ones who want to be be more involved in every aspect of the process. If, however, that is more than you want to deal with, then an affiliate network is the answer for you. In order to make this happen, however, you have to fit the Affiliate Networks basic requirements. Web based affiliate tracking is a solution where another web site other than your own, takes care of everything allowing you and your web site to do what it does best. Web based tracking is allowing the "technology" (another companies web site) to go to work keeping track of all the information that you need to run your affiliate program. Some even take care of all of your affiliates needs including writing out checks and technical support.



Minimum:

Minimum means the minimum you need to make before the merchant or affiliate program will send you a check. If the minimum is $20.00 then each month (or quarter with some programs) you make over $20.00, they will send what every you made. If it is under $20.00, then they hold it over another month (or quarter) until you make up to or over $20.00. If you do make over the minimum amount that is required then they send you what ever you have made. If not then they hold it over again. If you have low traffic on your site and the minimum is $100 and you make a few dollars with each sale, you may never reach that $100 minimum. You're better off with a much lower minimum or something that pays higher for each sale or lead.



Pay Per Click:

These programs all offer you (as an affiliate) the opportunity to earn commissions without the visitors you refer needing to make a purchase from the merchant of any type. All they have to do is click on the link on your page that takes them to the merchants site. At that point they may (or may not) buy something or signup for something. If you are the merchant then you are paying your affiliate for the targeted traffic they provide to your site.



Pay Per Impression:

These programs all offer you (as an affiliate) the opportunity to earn commissions without the visitors you refer needing to make a purchase from the merchant of any type or even click on their banners. All they have to do is see the banner on your page that takes them to the merchants site. At that point they may (or may not) click on it and then go on to buy something or signup for something. If you are the merchant then you are paying your affiliate for the targeted viewers they provide. This is more like traditional advertising where the viewer simply sees and ad on television of hears it on the radio. NOTE: Same as Pay Per View.



Pay Per Lead:

These programs all offer you (as an affiliate) the opportunity to earn commissions without the visitors you refer always needing to make a purchase from the merchant of any type. All they have to do is click on the link on your page that takes them to the merchants site and sign up for something. Most often for free services, trials or coupons and things. If you are the merchant then you are paying your affiliate for the targeted leads (contact info) they provide you.



Pay Per Sale:

With these programs you (as an affiliate) earn commissions when you refer the visitors at your site to buy your merchant partners products or services. You usually get a percentage of the sale or a fixed predetermined amount for the referral. If you are the merchant, then you are paying your affiliate a percentage (of the total dollar amount before shipping and taxes) of what actually sold from the targeted traffic they provided to you site. Otherwise you pay a a fixed predetermined amount for the referral.



Pay Per View:

These programs all offer you (as an affiliate) the opportunity to earn commissions without the visitors you refer needing to make a purchase from the merchant of any type or even click on their banners. All they have to do is see the banner on your page that takes them to the merchants site. At that point they may (or may not) click on it and then go on to buy something or signup for something. If you are the merchant then you are paying your affiliate for the targeted viewers they provide. This is more like traditional advertising where the viewer simply sees and ad on television of hears it on the radio. NOTE: Same as Pay Per Impression.



Product Specific Links:

Links that take (a web sites) viewers to a specific product or product page. Example: Being able to direct ones viewers to a specific product like a Solar Shower or an organic brush within a huge computer site.



Reseller:

Reseller program are different than affiliate programs because you (a site owner) have to buy something and then resell it. Thus you usually also have to deal with invoicing, returns, technical support and the like. Some reseller programs are really affiliate programs but are called Reseller programs, so you have to read the fine print...



Residual:

Residual income means that once you (as an affiliate) have referred an initial sale (by someone clicking on a link and then going on to buy something) you will receive a commission. Plus, you will then receive additional commissions (monthly, quarterly, yearly or etc.) as long as the visitor you referred remains a customer of the merchants service. If you are a merchant you can offer this residual income to your affiliates to ensure that they remain loyal and recommend you over the other merchants vying for their loyalty.
NOTE: This is usually only happens in a service that is supported through monthly fees or automatic subscription renewals. Examples: Web site hosting, magazine subscriptions and etc...



Search Box:

The search box that you see to the right is a special way of linking. It is coded to access web addresses built into a database. If you enter a category in to the "select category area", for example, and click Search, your browser will show the programs that relate to that category. (Try it to see how it works.)




Storefronts:

Storefronts are prefabricated pages that display new or specialised products in an appealing way. Some storefronts are dynamically updated, so that you (as an affiliate) don't have to change the code on your pages to make sure that your viewers are linking to an up-to-date merchandise. Other storefronts are created by you using the merchants affiliate technology allowing you to hand pick the products you want featured. If you are a merchant, you want to enable your affiliates to have every option available as far as them creating store fronts. Options like being able to hand select specific products, CO-Branding, easy storefront setup and the ability to target categories of products or services if appropriate. Avoid making your affiliates download (and then upload again to their sites) the individual pictures (graphics) of your product or services as this gets old really fast... Example: Dell Computers and Accessories or Sport Bras



Text Links:

The link that you see between the two stars *100% Free After Rebate * is a text link. It is coded to have an address built into it. If you click it, your browser will show the page that the address points to.



Two Tier:

Two Tier programs pay commissions at least two-levels deep. This means that if you (as an affiliate) refer new affiliates (to sell the merchants products or services), then you receive a portion of the new affiliates sales. This is in addition to whatever commissions are made on the sales that are made by the viewers that come to your site. In other words, a two tier program is the merchants way of encouraging you to promote their affiliate program to other webmasters. When you do you get a commission (percentage) based on what they make. If you are a merchant, then offering a two tier program is one of the best ways to encourage your affiliates to get other webmasters to start promoting your products and services. This will cause your affiliate program to expand and reach more and more webmasters, which in turn makes you more money. Definitely do not over look this feature...



What should I look for in an affiliate program?

Reliable, sophisticated tracking technology
The ability to control your brand as it is distributed over potentially thousands of affiliate web sites
The ability to create and structure deals and compensation in any way you want, and in as many different ways as you need, to as many different types of affiliates as you may have
The ability to run targeted, limited time, and/or product specific promotions
A platform-neutral solution
An interoperable solution
A scalable solution
The ability to monitor, evaluate and optimize your program
Ease of use
A solution that is easy for affiliates to use too (because happy affiliates are productive affiliates)
The ability to tailor your solution according to your business goals and objectives
Access to active, committed affiliates
The ability to ramp up quickly
The ability to create private offers to provide incentives for affiliates who perform well
The ability to segment your affiliate base into groups you define, just as you segment your target audience
The ability to partner with other merchants
Affiliate customer service
Relationship Management Tools
Merchant Marketing Support.


 
 
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